Latest News


Disability Sport NI 20th Anniversary Dinner and Awards

Wed 31st October 2018

Thank you to everyone who supported our 20th Anniversary Dinner and Awards at the iconic Titanic Belfast. 

It was a fantastic night made possible by our very generous sponsors and all of the people who have supported disability sports in Northern Ireland throughout the past twenty years. 

Thank you to our headline sponsors John Preston Healthcare, our AV sponsors BNL Productions and our design sponsors Whitenoise Studios as well as each of our award sponsors as outlined below.  Congratulations to each of our award winners and nominees. 

John Preston Healthcare

John Preston with Disability Sport NI representatives 


BNL Productions                                                                      Whitenoise Studios

 BNL Productions representatives with Disability Sport NI  An image of Mark Case and Adam Smyth from Whitenoise with Disability Sport NI's Michael McAteer MBE and Kevin O'Neill


Award Winners and Sponsors

Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by John Preston Healthcare

Winner – Angela Hendra MBE

An image of Angela holding her award  An image of Angela with sponsors from John Preston as well as Disability Sport NI's Kevin O;Neill, Dr Janet Gray and Michael McAteer


Disability Club Award sponsored by A J Gallagher

Winner – Belfast Lough Sailability

The Knights Wheelchair Basketball Club
Belfast Lough Sailability
Newforge Taggers
Trailblazers Powerchair Football Club

Belfast Lough Sailability with their award  An image of John McConnell from AJ Gallgher with Dawn McGookin, Michael McAteer and Kevin O'Neill from Disability Sport NI


Inclusive Club Award sponsored by The Progressive Building Society

Winner – Salto Gymnastics Club

Rathgael Gymnastics Club
Salto Gymnastics Club
City of Belfast Swimming Club
TW Braga Football Club

An image of the ladies from Salto with Dr Janet Gray MBE and Michael Boyd from The Progressive Building Society   An image of representatives from the Progressive with Disability Sport NI;s Michael McAteer and Kevin O;Neill


Volunteer Award sponsored by the Electrical Contractors Association and the Joint Industry Board

Winner – Ivor Jess MBE

Bob Harper, Sailing
Joe Graham, Boccia and Powerchair Football
Ivor Jess MBE, Wheelchair Tennis
Aubrey Bingham, Wheelchair Basketball

An image of Ivor Jess MBE with Alfie Watterson and Michael Hilland  An image of Michael McAteer, Michael Hilland, Alfie Watterson and Kevin O'Neill


Community Sports Coach Award sponsored by Amplifi Solutions

Winner – Danny McSherry, Tandem Cycling

Danny McSherry, Tandem Cycling
Terry Conroy, Badminton
Heather Ardis, Athletics
Jason Kennedy, Wheelchair Basketball

An image of Danny McSherry receiving his award with Orla Fox from Disability Sport NI and Jeff Drennan and Chris Maylin from Amplifi  An image of Chris Maylin and Jeff Drennan from Amplifi with Disability Sport NI's Dawn McGookin and Kevin O'Neill


Driving Inclusion Award sponsored by Poolpod

Winner – Alan Crooks, Irish Football Association

Angharad Bunt, Acting Participation Manager at Sport NI
Wanda Rea, Sports Development Officer at Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council
Keith Collen, Leisure, Recreation and Sport Manager at Fermanagh and Omagh District Council
Alan Crooks, Development Manager, Disability Football at Irish Football Association

An image of Alan Crooks with Poolpods Josh Reid and Disability Action's Kevin Doherty  An image of Poolpods Josh Reid with Disability Sport NI's Michael McAteer and Kevin O'Neill


Team Award sponsored by Omexom Power and Grid

Winner – The Knights Wheelchair Basketball Club Irish League Team

The Knights Wheelchair Basketball Club Irish League Team
The Ulster Barbarians Wheelchair Rugby Team
Belfast Deaf United Football Club
The Northern Ireland Under 19 Wheelchair Basketball Team 

A picture of Conn Nagle accepting the award on behalf of Omexom Power and Grid  Paul McGreevy and Paul McCann Omexom Power and Grid with Disability Sport NI;s Kevin O'Neill and Michael Hilland


Athlete Spirit of Sport Award sponsored by Cool FM

Winner – Jan Dinsdale MBE, Blind Golf

Nominees – 
Jan Dinsdale MBE, Blind Golf
James MacSorley, Wheelchair Basketball
Claire Taggart, Boccia
Will Doggart, Wheelchair Rugby

Jan Dinsdale MBE accepting her award from Sport NI's George Lucas and Stuart Robinson from Cool FM  An image of Michael McAteer MBE, Dawn McGookin, Cool FM's Stuart Robinson, Elaine Reid and Kevin O'Neill


Rising Star Award sponsored by Esportif

Winner – Jack Agnew, Athletics

Nominees – 
Eve Walsh-Dann, Athletics
Barry McClements, Swimming
Jack Agnew, Athletics
Conn Nagel, Wheelchair Basketball

Claire Harris from Esportif with winner Jack Agnew and Darren Cave from Disability Sport NI  Dawn McGookin, Kevin O'Neill, Claire Harris from Esportif and Darren Cave


Performance Sports Coach Award sponsored by Ask IT and Holly’s Coffee Shop, Ballynahinch

Winner – Nelson Lindsay, Swimming

Nominees – 
Nelson Lindsay, Swimming 
Paddy McKillop, Athletics
Odhrán Doherty, Boccia
Phil Robinson, Wheelchair Basketball

An image of Allen and Shelly Lyons from Ask IT and Holly's Coffee Shop in Ballynahinch with Disability Sport NI's Dawn McGookin and award winner Nelson Lindsay  Disability Sport NI's Dawn McGookin and Kevin O'Neill with Ask IT's Allen Lyons and Shelly Lyons from Holly's Coffee Shop in Ballynahinch


Athlete Excellence Award sponsored by McFarland Associates Ltd

Winner – Bethany Firth, MBE

Nominees – 
Kelly Gallagher MBE, Alpine Skiing
Dr Michael McKillop, Athletics
Bethany Firth MBE, Swimming 
Jason Smyth, Athletics

An Image of Bethany Firth MBE at SINI receiving her award from Brian and Sharon McFarland from McFarland Associates  An image of Brian and Sharon McFarland with Kevin O'Neill and Michael McAteer