Latest News


Northern Ireland BC1 - BC5 National Boccia Championships Results

Mon 4th June 2018

Antrim Forum played host to the finals of the inaugural Northern Ireland BC1 - BC5 National Boccia Championships at the weekend where players from across the country came together to compete for honours across all classifications.

In the BC1/2 classification 2016 Rio Paralympian Claire Taggart secured the Championship defeating Scott Cromie in an exciting final where both players displayed the full range of their skills. William Graham finished in 3rd place after an excellent performance against the experienced Dave Todd.

In the BC3 classification Ballyclare duo Robyn McBride and Hannah Uprichard qualified for the final where McBride took an early lead on the first end and managed to close out the game from there to take the title in a close game. Newcomer Daniel Elliott will be delighted with his 3rd place finish in his first competitive outing defeating Bangor's Robert McCune to finish in 3rd place.

The BC4/5 competition really went down to the wire with a number of players showing huge potential and narrowly missing out on qualification from the pool stages. Pool toppers Caroline Millar & Paul McLister qualified through to the final with Millar's experience telling in the early stages when she secured a lead that she was able to protect and take the title. McLister will be delighted with his silver medal and will no doubt be aiming for more honours next season. NIPF team mates Joe MvVeigh & William Auld played off for 3rd place with William securing the medal after a really close encounter.

Boccia UK Performance Pathway Coaching Officer Liz Wilks was in attendance for the finals and was very impressed with the standard of play across all classifications and the development of Boccia in Northern Ireland over the last number of years.

The championship brings down the curtain for the season nationally for the players in Northern Ireland with the new season kicking off in September with the Team League & Individual National Championship.

Thank you to all the players, sports assistants, volunteers, referees, DSNI staff and board who have all made a major contribution to the success of the competition over the last number of months.

Overall Resuts:
1. Claire Taggart
2. Scott Cromie
3. William Graham
4. Dave Todd
5. Katie Douglas
6. Roisin Farren
1. Robyn McBride
2. Hannah Uprichard
3. Daniel Elliott
4. Robert McCune

1. Caroline Millar
2. Paul McLister
3. William Auld
4. Joe McVeigh
5. Jayne Milligan
6. Ruairi McDermott
7. Joe Crilly
8. Conor Smyth
9. Dylan Wade